University Senate – May 1st, 2017



University Senate Meeting Minutes May 1st, 2017 3:00 - 5:00 p.m. Monroe B01

IN ATTENDANCE:

John Abbruzzese, Abdalla Aldras, William Bajor, Terry Barry, Nurun Begum, , David Bousquet, Joanne Bruno, Robert Cohen, Darla Darno, Susan Dillmuth-Miller, Anthony Drago, Johan Eliasson, Brenda Friday, Melissa Geiger, Kyndra Goodwyn, Sheila Handy, Peter Hawkes, Heon Kim, Eun-Joo Lee, Kenneth Long, Andi McClanahan, Annie Mendoza, Taina Moore, Kizzy Morris, Bob Moses, Richard Otto, Fernando Perez, Francina Phillips, Laurel Pierangeli, Tribhuvan Puri, Chelsi Roberts-Williams, Leigh Smith, Thomas Tauer, Doreen Tobin, Nancy Van Arsdale, Daisy Wang, Marcia Welsh, Jingfeng Xia.

ABSENT:

Todd Behr, Rob Berkowitz, Locks-Ann Braham, Agnes Brannan, Teri Burcroff, Robert D'Aversa, Esther Daganzo-Cantens, Mark Davies, Scott Dietrich, Wendy Wheeler Dietrich, Kathleen Duguay, Heather Garrison, Mark Gatesman, Sandra Gordon, Kelly Harrison, Miriam Juya, Keisha Kauffmann, Andrew Kissling, Jaedeock Lee, Clare Lenhart, Paul Lippert, Barbara Miccio, Matthew Miltenberger, Sarah Pomales, Mary Frances Postupack, David Primus, Matthew Rivera, Kennedy Sheeley, Yoshi Tanokura, Charles Warner, Gene White, Xuemao Zhang.

- 1. Roll Call
- 2. Approval of April 2017 Minutes
 - Approved by general consent
- 3. Fix the Agenda for the meeting
- 4. Committee reports
 - Research: chaired by Johan Eliasson, report attached.
 - Change of bylaws for Research Committee makeup
 - To add the head of the Office of Sponsored Projects and Research, the Director of Graduate & Extended Studies, and a representative from the local Council of Undergraduate Research to the membership
 - To replace the "six unrestricted senators" by "six ESU faculty, of which four must be senators".
 - The motion passed (27 to 5)
- 5. Meeting dates for 2017-2018 (minimum of seven)
 - Sep 11, Oct 2, Nov 6, Dec 4, Feb 5, Mar 5, Apr 2 (first Monday of each month except for Sep)
 - Approved
- 6. Nominations and Elections
 - President
 - Robert Cohen (27 to 4)
 - Vice-President
 - John Abbruzzese (24 to 7)
 - Secretary/Treasurer

Move the election to fall, due to lack of candidates

• At Large

Lori Pierangeli: 12

University Senate – May 1st, 2017

Taina Moore: 19

- 7. University President's Report
 - Amendments to the Constitution: approved
 - tuition driven institute, need to be mindful for students' visitations over summer to market ESU.
- 8. Old Business-None
- 9. New Business-None
- 10. Announcements
 - New student senate president (Chelsi Roberts-Williams) and vice president (Judaha Amoroso)
 - One Book (Glass Castle): First year to choose a female author. Put the book on summer reading list. Email students, staff, faculty to lead the review sessions with freshmen on Sunday.
- 11. Adjournment
 - Meeting adjourned 3:51 p.m., next meeting on Monday, September 11, in Monroe B01.