University Senate – December 5th, 2016



University Senate Meeting Minutes December 5th, 2016 3:00 - 5:00 p.m. Monroe B01

IN ATTENDANCE:

John Abbruzzese, Abdalla Aldras, Terry Barry, Locks-Ann Braham, Joanne Bruno, Li-Ming Chiang, Robert Cohen, Robert D'Aversa, Darla Darno, Shala Davis, Mary DeVito, Susan Dillmuth-Miller, Anthony Drago, Kathleen Duguay, Johan Eliasson, Brenda Friday, Mark Gatesman, Kelly Harrison, Peter Hawkes, Keisha Kauffmann, Jonathan Keiter, Andrew Kissling, Clare Lenhart, David Mazure, Taina Moore, Fernando Perez, Mary Frances Postupack, Matthew Rivera, Chelsi Roberts-Williams, Kennedy Sheeley, Pat Smeaton, Leigh Smith, Doreen Tobin, Nancy VanArsdale, Charles Warner, Marcia Welsh.

ABSENT:

Beth Banks, Nurun Begum, Todd Behr, Rob Berkowitz, David Bousquet, Teri Burcroff, Richard Connell, Esther Daganzo-Cantens, Scott Dietrich, Wendy Wheeler Dietrich, Joe Eshun, Sterling Francois, Heather Garrison, Kyndra Goodwyn, Sandra Gordon, Michael Gray, Sheila Handy, Patty Hannon, Jan Hoffman, Yihui Huang, Miriam Juya, Heon Kim, Jaedeock Lee, Kenneth Long, Andi McClanahan, Annie Mendoza, Barbara Miccio, Matthew Miltenberger, Bob Moses, Francina Phillips, David Primus, Tribhuvan Puri, Mike Southwell, Mathilde Tank-Munier, Yoshi Tanokura, Thomas Tauer, Gene White, Jingfeng Xia.

- 1. Roll Call
- 2. Approval of November 2016 Minutes
 - Quorum not met.
- 3. University President's Report
 - The President supports the revision to the University Senate by-law and believe the revision will enhance our ability to improve shared governance on our campus. The President is concerned with number of senators elected by their department who do not attend the meetings.
 - The President strongly encourages Senate Secretary to send the minutes to the department chairs so that they know if their representative is attending the meeting or not.
 - All Senators should be willing to serve on Senate Committees and are encouraged to participate in the meetings of the university senate.
 - The President supports adding non-senators to the senate committees which will help us address issues appropriate more directly.
- 4. Fix the Agenda for the meeting
 - Quorum not met.
- 5. Executive Committee (Committee Appointment)
 - Fernando Perez will be appointed to the Academic Affairs Committee in the 2017 Spring Semester.
- 6. Old Business
 - None.
- 7. New Business
 - Quorum not met.

University Senate – December 5th, 2016

8. Announcements

- Robert Cohen announced an opening for the University Senate Secretary/Treasurer appointment for the 2017 Spring Semester. Please contact the University Senate President if interested in the position.
- Doreen Tobin announced there will be a Meeting of the Student Affairs sub-committee December 9th in room 121 Reibman Administration Building.
- Keisha Kauffmann announced that on December 3rd, the annual teddy bear drive was a great success with more donations then the previous year. The parents and children attended the event all enjoyed it.
- Marcia Welsh announced the commencement ceremony will be held on December 17th with robing starting at 8 a.m., processing at 8:45 a.m. The 2016 winter commencement ceremony keynote speaker is Jeffrey Carr, ESU alumni that has over 25 years of diverse experience working in corporate and consumer services specializing in hospital sales, employer and producer partnership, retail health, pharmacogenomics and ambulatory care services, etc.

9. Adjournment

• Meeting adjourned 3:30 p.m.