

University Senate Meeting Minutes October 26th, 2015 3:00 - 5:00 p.m. Lower Dansbury

IN ATTENDANCE: John Abbruzzese, Quiana Adindu, Abdalla Aldras, Mary Meth Allen, Terry Barry, Todd Behr, David Bousquet, Briana Brizill, Joanne Bruno, Teri Burcroff, Alberto Cardelle, Li-Ming Chiang, Meghan Clearie, Robert Cohen, Marianne Cutler, Susan Dillmuth-Miller, Kathleen Duguay, Johan Eliasson, Joe Eshun, Brenda Friday, Melissa Geiger, Shelia Handy, Kelly Harrison, Jan Hoffman, Drew Johnson, Keisha Kauffman, Jonathan Keiter, Richard Kelly, Heon Kim, Clare Lenhart, Kenneth Long, David Mazure, Andi McClanahan, Joseph Miele, Matthew Miltenberger, Albert Moranville, Bob Moses, Mary Frances Postupak, Kennedy Sheeley, Pat Smeaton, Leigh Smith, Mike Southwell, Yoshi Tanokura, Thomas Tauer, Doreen Tobin, Charlie Warner, Dominique Washington, Louis Wein, Marcia Welsh

ABSENT: Nurun Begum, Richard Connell, Esther Daganzo-Cantens, Robert D'Aversa, Casandra Destefano, Scott Dietrich, James Emert, Binetou Fall, Heather Garrison, Mark Gatesman, Sandra Gordon, Michael Gray, Peter Hawkes, Yi-hui Huang, Rebecca Keck, John Kochmansky, Jaedeock Lee, Barbara Miccio, Fernando Perez, David Primus, Leslie Raser, Nancy VanArsdale, Daniel Watson, Gene White

### Roll Call (Sign in)

- 1. Approval of September 28th, 2015 Minutes
  - Minutes approved by general consent.
- 2. University President's Report
  - The president responded to Senate's September recommendation that we return to the method of announcing the deaths of former faculty and staff in individual emails sent to the university (rather than the warrior notes). The president has spoken to those in the campus community who would be directly impacted by this change and after thoughtful consideration it has been decided that such notices will continue to be included in the warrior notes but University Relations will incorporate a separate in memoriam section in warrior notes to give prominence and special recognition of these notices.
- 3. Fix the Agenda for the meeting
  - Agenda approved by general consent.
- 4. Executive Committee Report
  - Approval of committee positions and assignments.
  - Addition of Kennedy Sheeley as the Student Senate President designee on the Academic Affairs committee.
  - Passed.
- 5. Old Business
  - None.
- 6. New Business
  - None.
- 7. Announcements

- Doreen Tobin announced that One Book, One Campus 2015 reception for author Jess Row will begin seating at 7:30 pm, held at the Madelon Powers Art Gallery and Fine Arts Lobby, Fine and Performing Arts Center.
- Robert Cohen announced if the senate have any comments or concerns of the switched meeting schedule (meeting every Monday of each month) please let him know.
- Robert Cohen announced a survey will be sent on behalf of the evaluation committee and would like your feedback based on your experience running for the senate.
- President Marcia Welsh announced the round table discussion on the strategic plan will be hosted Thursday at 9 pm at UC reception room. The implementation committee will be there and looking forward for faculty and staff members to join the conversation.

### 8. Adjournment

• The meeting adjourned at 3:45 pm.

Appendix I University Senate Committee
Chairs indicated by asterisk (\*)
Newly approved members indicated by plus (+)

#### **Executive**

Senate President \*Robert Cohen
Senate Vice-President John Abbruzzese
Secretary/Treasurer Li-Ming Chiang
Provost/Designee Joanne Bruno
At-large member Bob Moses
APSCUF President Nancy VanArsdale
Student Senate President Drew Johnson

Rules and Bylaws Senate Vice-President Academic Dean

APSCUF Vice-President Parliamentarian/Historian Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator

#### **Diversity**

Director, Office of Div & Equal Opp

Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator

### **Facilities**

VP Finance and Admin/Designee

Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator \*John Abbruzzese +Albert Moranville Andi McClanahan Doreen Tobin Bob Moses

**Daniel Watson** 

Danelle McClanahan Keisha Kauffman \*Heon Kim Nurun Begum +Joe Eshun +Gene White +Teri Burcroff

Kenneth Long Bob Moses Scott Dietrich Yoshi Tanokura David Bousquet

Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator

**Student Affairs** 

VP Student Affairs/Designee Student Senate President

Student Senator Student Senator **Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator** 

**Budget and Planning** 

College A&S College Education College Health Sciences

College Business Non-classroom Student Senator **Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator** 

University President/Designee

Provost/Designee

VP Finance and Admin/Designee

**Instructional Resources and Technology** 

**Unrestricted Senator** 

Unrestricted Senator **Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator** 

Unrestricted Senator

VP Finance and Admin/Designee

Provost/Designee

Research

Dean Graduate School

IRP Representative **Unrestricted Senator** Unrestricted Senator **Unrestricted Senator** Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator

Orientation

Unrestricted Senator **Unrestricted Senator** Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator

**Unrestricted Senator** 

Nominations and Elections

**Richard Kelly** \*Heather Garrison

**Doreen Tobin Drew Johnson Louis Wein Briana Brizill** Mark Gatesman \*Joseph Miele **Marianne Cutler** Susan Dillmuth-Miller

Pat Smeaton **Suzanne Prestoy** \*Sheila Handy John Abbruzzese **Binetou Fall David Bousquet** Jaedeock Lee **Kenneth Long** Joanne Bruno **Debbie Morgan** 

Jonathan Keiter \*James Emert **Kelly Harrison** 

+Esther Daganzo-Cantens

**Daniel Watson** Robert D'Aversa Mike Southwell

**Kelly Boyd** Yi-hui Huang \*Johan Eliasson Alberto Cardelle Mark Gatesman **Richard Kelly Clare Lenhart** 

Joseph Miele Nancy VanArsdale \*Jonathan Keiter +David Bousquet

**Unrestricted Senator** 

Unrestricted Senator

Academic Affairs

Provost/Designee
Academic Dean
Peter Hawkes
Chair, UWCC
College A&S
College Education

Joanne Bruno
Reter Hawkes
Kathleen Duguay
Joseph Miele
+Heather Garrison

College Health Sciences

College Business Non-classroom

Student Senator Dominique Washington
Student Senator/Student Senate Designee +Kennedy Sheeley

**Evaluation Committee (ad hoc)** 

Unrestricted Senator \*Robert Cohen
Unrestricted Senator Doreen Tobin
Unrestricted Senator Jonathan Keiter
Unrestricted Senator Alberto Cardelle