

University Senate Meeting Minutes September 28th, 2015 3:00 - 5:00 p.m. Lower Dansbury

IN ATTENDANCE: John Abbruzzese, Quiana Adindu, Abdalla Aldras, Terry Barry, Todd Behr, David Bousquet, Briana Brizill, Joanne Bruno, Teri Burcroff, Li-Ming Chiang, Meghan Clearie, Marianne Culter, Robert D'Aversa, Scott Dietrich, Susan Dillmuth-Miller, Kathleen Duguay, Johan Eliasson, Joe Eshun, Binetou Fall, Brenda Friday, Heather Garrison, Mark Gatesman, Michael Gray, Sheila Handy, Kelly Harrison, Peter Hawkes, Jan Hoffman, Drew Johnson, Keisha Kauffman, Jonathan Keiter, Heon Kim, Jaedeock Lee, Clare Lenhart, Kenneth Long, Joseph Miele, Bob Moses, Pat Smeaton, Leigh Smith, Mike Southwell, Yoshi Tanokura, Thomas Tauer, Nancy Van Arsdale, Charlie Warner, Daniel Watson, Louis Wein, Gene White, Doreen Tobin.

ABSENT: Mary Beth Allen, Nurun Begum, Alberto Cardelle, Richard Connell, Esther Daganzo-Cantens, Casandra Destefano, James Emert, Melissa Geiger, Sandra Gordon, John Kochmansky, David Mazure, Andi McClanahan, Barbara Miccio, Matthew Miltenberger, Albert Moranville, Fernando Perez, Mary Frances Postupak, Suzanne Prestoy, David Primus, Leslie Raser, Kennedy Sheeley, Yi-hui Huang, Richard Kelly, Dominique Washington, Marcia Welsh.

Roll Call (Sign in)

- 1. Approval of August 2015 Minutes
 - Motion moved to make changes and seconded to approve the August 31th, 2015.
 - Motion carried.
- 2. University President's Report
 - None.
- 3. Fix the Agenda for the meeting
 - Motion moved and seconded to approve the agenda items.
 - Motion carried.
- 4. Executive Committee Report
 - Approval of committee assignments (http://tiyurl.com/esu-senate)
 - Passed.
- 5. Old Business
 - None.
- 6. New Business
 - Motion moved by Jonathan Keiter and seconded that the senate recommend that we return to the
 method of announcing the deaths of former faculty and staff in individual emails sent to the
 university (rather than the warrior notes).
 - Passed.
- 7. Announcements
 - Drew Johnson announced ESU will be hosting the board of student government president's conference in Science and Technology Center October 2nd and 3rd.
- 8. Adjournment
 - The meeting adjourned at 3:45 pm.

Appendix I University Senate Committee

Executive

Senate President *Robert Cohen
Senate Vice-President John Abbruzzese
Secretary/Treasurer Li-Ming Chiang
Provost/Designee Joanne Bruno
At-large member Bob Moses

APSCUF President
Student Senate President

Nancy VanArsdale
Drew Johnson

Rules and Bylaws

Senate Vice-President *John Abbruzzese

Academic Dean

APSCUF Vice-President
Parliamentarian/Historian
Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator
Daniel Watson

Diversity

Director, Office of Div & Equal Opp
Unrestricted Senator
Vurun Begum

Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator

Facilities

VP Finance and Admin/Designee
Unrestricted Senator
Weenth Long
Bob Moses
Scott Dietrich
Yoshi Tanokura
David Bousquet
Richard Kelly
Unrestricted Senator
*Heather Garrison

Student Affairs

Doreen Tobin VP Student Affairs/Designee **Drew Johnson** Student Senate President Student Senator Louis Wein **Briana Brizill** Student Senator **Unrestricted Senator** Mark Gatesman Unrestricted Senator *Joseph Miele **Unrestricted Senator Marianne Cutler** Unrestricted Senator Susan Dillmuth-Miller

Budget and Planning

College A&S

College Education Pat Smeaton

College Health Sciences **Suzanne Prestoy** College Business *Sheila Handy Non-classroom John Abbruzzese **Student Senator Binetou Fall Unrestricted Senator David Bousquet** Unrestricted Senator Jaedeock Lee University President/Designee **Kenneth Long** Provost/Designee Joanne Bruno VP Finance and Admin/Designee **Debbie Morgan**

Instructional Resources and Technology

Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator

Welly Harrison

Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator

Unrestricted Senator

VP Finance and Admin/Designee

Provost/Designee

Daniel Watson

Robert D'Aversa

Mike Southwell

Research

Dean Graduate School
IRP Representative
Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator
Alberto Cardelle

Unrestricted Senator

Orientation

Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator

*Jonathan Keiter

Nominations and Elections

Unrestricted Senator

Unrestricted Senator *Nurun Begum
Unrestricted Senator Joanne Bruno

Unrestricted Senator

Unrestricted Senator Heon Kim

Academic Affairs

Provost/Designee Joanne Bruno
Academic Dean Peter Hawkes
Chair, UWCC Kathleen Duguay
College A&S Joseph Miele

College Education

College Health Sciences

College Business Non-classroom

Student Senator Dominique Washington

Student Senator/Student Senate Designee

Evaluation Committee (ad hoc)

Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator
Unrestricted Senator

*Robert Cohen Doreen Tobin Jonathan Keiter Alberto Cardelle