

University Senate Meeting Minutes August 31th, 2015 3:15 - 5:00 p.m. Lower Dansbury

IN ATTENDANCE: John Abbruzzese, Abdalla Aldras, Mary Beth Allen, Terry Barry, David Bousquet, Joanne Bruno, Teri Burcroff, Alberto Cardelle, Robert Cohen, Marianne Cutler, Robert D'Aversa, Susan Dillmuth-Miller, Kathleen Duguay, Johan Eliasson, Joe Eshun, Brenda Friday, Heather Garrison, Melissa Geiger, Michael Gray, Sheila Handy, Kelly Harrison, Peter Hawkes, Yi-hui Huang, Drew Johnson, Jonathan Keiter, Clare Lenhart, Kenneth Long, David Mazure, Andi McClanahan, Joseph Miele, Matthew Miltenberger, Bob Moses, Mary Frances Postupak, Suzanne Prestoy, Pat Smeaton, Leigh Smith, Mike Southwell, Thomas Tauer, Doreen Tobin, Nancy VanArsdale, Charlie Warner.

ABSENT: Quiana Adindu, Nurun Begum, Todd Behr, Li-Ming Chiang, Meghan Clearie, Richard Connell, Esther Daganzo-Cantens, Casandra Destefano, Scott Dietrich, James Emert, Binetou Fall, Mark Gatesman, Sandra Gordon, Jan Hoffman, Keisha Kauffman, Rebecca Keck, Richard Kelly, Heon Kim, John Kochmansky, Jaedeock Lee, Barbara Miccio, Albert Moranville, Fernando Perez, David Primus, Leslie Raser, Kennedy Sheeley, Yoshi Tanokura, Dominique Washington, Daniel Watson, Louis Wein, Marcia Welsh, Gene White.

Roll Call (Sign in)

Robert Cohen provided orientation to the senate and parliamentary procedures.

- 1. Approval of May 2015 Minutes
 - Motion moved and seconded to approve the May 25th, 2015.
 - Motion carried.
- 2. University President's Report
 - The president approved and accepted the research plan passed by the senate at the May 2015 meeting
- 3. Fix the Agenda for the meeting
 - Motion moved and seconded to fix the agenda items.
 - Motion carried.
- 4. Executive Committee Report
 - Approval of parliamentarian selection
 - a. Darien Tobin was voted and approved as the 2015-2016 academic year university senate parliamentarian.
 - Approval of committee assignments (<u>http://tiyurl.com/esu-senate</u>)
 - a. The committee list was voted and passed (Appendix I)
- 5. Old Business
 - None.
- 6. New Business
 - None.
- 7. Announcements

- Robert Cohen suggested the chair of each university senate committee to meeting on 3-5 slot on alternative Mondays. By laws require each committee to provide a report at the end of the year.
- John Eliasson announced on behalf of Christina McDonald, she invites and encourages faculty members to participate faculty grant orientation session Tuesday September 29th at the innovation center.
- John Eliasson announced that the committee on excellence in teaching and learning will provide faculty mentorship program during October for new incoming faculty members.
- Andi McClanahan announced that students may begin to register themselves online to vote for the upcoming general election on October 6th.
- Joanne Bruno announced the 3rd Latino Heritage Film Festival will be held at Stroud 113 September 24th, 2015.
- First University Meeting will be held September 1st and honor new distinguish faculty recipients.

8. Adjournment

• The meeting adjourned at 3:47 p.m.

APPENDIX I

Executive

Senate President **Robert Cohen*** Senate Vice-President Secretary/Treasurer Provost/Designee **Bob Moses** At-large member **APSCUF** President **Student Senate President Rules and Bylaws** Senate Vice-President **APSCUF Vice-President** Parliamentarian/Historian **Unrestricted Senator** Diversity **Heon Kim* Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator** Facilities VP Finance and Admin/Designee **Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator** Unrestricted Senator **Student Affairs** VP Student Affairs/Designee **Student Senate President Student Senator Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator** Unrestricted Senator **Unrestricted Senator Budget and Planning College Education Pat Smeaton College Health Sciences College Business** Non-classroom **Unrestricted Senator** Unrestricted Senator University President/Designee **Kenneth Long** Provost/Designee VP Finance and Admin/Designee Donna Bulzoni

John Abbruzzese Li-Ming Chiang Joanne Bruno **Nancy Van Arsdale Drew Johnson** John Abbruzzese* Andi McClanahan **Doreen Tobin Daniel Watson Nurun Begum Daniel Watson** Kenneth Long **David Bousquet Richard Kelly Heather Garrison* Doreen Tobin Drew Johnson Daniel Watson** Mark Gatesman Joseph Miele* **Marianne Cutler Susan Dillmuth-Miller Suzanne Prestoy** Sheila Handy* John Abbruzzese **David Bousquet** Jaedeock Lee

Joanne Bruno

Instructional Resources and Technology

Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator VP Finance and Admin/Designee Provost/Designee Research **IRP** Representative **Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator** Unrestricted Senator **Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator** Orientation **Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Nominations and Elections Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Academic Affairs** Provost/Designee Chair, UWCC College A&S **Evaluation Committee (ad hoc) Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator Unrestricted Senator**

James Emert* **Kelly Harrison Stephanie French Daniel Watson Kenneth Long Mike Southwell** Kelly Boyd Yi-hui Huang Johan Eliasson* Daniel Watson Mark Gatesman **Richard Kelly Clare Lenhart** Joseph Miele **Nancy Van Arsdale** Nurun Begum* Joanne Bruno **Heon Kim**

Joanne Bruno Kathleen Duguay Joseph Miele

Robert Cohen Doreen Tobin Jonathan Keiter Alberto Cardelle

-Asterisks (*) are committee chairs

Unrestricted Senator