

University Senate Meeting Minutes October 20, 2014 3:00 - 5:00 p.m. Lower Dansbury

Roll Call

IN ATTENDANCE: Julianne Alberio-Walton, John abbruzzese, Radhia Adam, Abdalla Aldras, Mary Beth Allen, Terry Barry, Leslie Berger, David Bousquet, Teri Burcroff, Robert Cohen, Stanley Chiang, Marianne Cutler, Robert D'Aversa, Esther Daganzo-Cantens, Chris Davis, Susan Dillmuth-Miller, Kathleen Duguay, Ronald Eith, Johan Eliasson, Binetou Fall, Melissa Geiger, Glenn Geiser-Getz, Tom Gioglio, Jon Gold, Sheila Handy, Jeffrey Hardy, Kelly Harrison, Peter Hawkes, Jan Hoffman, Drew Johnson, Jonathan Keiter, Heon Kim, Jaedeock Lee, David Mazure, Andi McClanahn, Joe Miele, Matthew Miltenberger, Bob Moses, Sarah Khan, Edward Owusu-Ansah, Suzanne Prestoy, Van Reidhead, Patricia Smeaton, Leigh Smith, Yoshi Tanokura, Doreen Tobin, Nancy Van Arsdale, Dominique Washington, Gene White, Qian Xie, Anthony Ruiz

ABSENT: Nurun Begum, Todd Behr, Alberto Cardelle, Richard Connell, Scott Dietrich, James Emert, Robert Fleischman, Heather Garrison, Stephanie Gavilanes, Sandra Gordon, Michael Gray, Yi-hui Huang, Rebecca Keck, **Efia King**, John Kochmansky, Clare Lenhart, Kenneth Long, Fernando Perez, Mary Frances Postupak, David Primus, Leslie Raser, Brad Seid, Mike Southwell, Daniel Watson, Marcia Welsh, Rebecca Zirkelbach

- 1. Roll Call (Sign in)
- 2. Approval of Minutes, September 14, 2014
 - Motion made by Drew Johnson and seconded to approve the minutes of the September 14, 2014, meeting.
 - Motion carried.
- 3. University President's Report, Dr. Marcia G. Welsh, President of East Stroudsburg University
 - Van Reidhead indicated that the President had no report.
- **4.** Fix the Agenda for the meeting
 - Motion was made by Doreen Tobin and seconded to fix the agenda as submitted by the Executive committee.
 - Motion carried.
- **5.** Executive Committee Report
 - On behalf of the executive committee, Robert Cohen submitted Doreen Tobin for confirmation as the Parliamentarian for this year.
 - By voice vote, Doreen Tobin was confirmed as parliamentarian.
 - On behalf of the executive committee, Robert Cohen submitted the following names for confirmation as standing committee members:
 - o Sheila Handy, unrestricted senator on Rules and Bylaws committee
 - o Esther Daganzo-Cantens, unrestricted senator on Diversity committee
 - o David Bousquet, unrestricted senator on Facilities committee
 - Yoshi Tanokura, unrestricted senator on Facilities committee
 - o Radhia Adam, student senator on Student Affairs committee
 - o Sarah Khan, student senator on Student Affairs committee

- o Marianne Cutler, unrestricted senator on Student Affairs committee
- o Binetou Fall, student senator on Budget and Planning committee
- o Jaedeock Lee, unrestricted senator on Budget and Planning committee
- Rebecca Zirkelbach, unrestricted senator on Nominations and Elections committee
- O Anthony Ruiz, student senator on Academic Affairs committee
 - The above names were confirmed by voice vote.
- Robert Cohen announced that Daniel Watson was selected by Drew Johnson, Student Senate President, to serve on the Academic Affairs committee

6. New Business

- It was moved by Nancy Van Arsdale and seconded that "The senate's original recommendation in regard to graduate commencement of Friday evening, that was approved by the President and put into practice, be sustained."
- After some discussion, the motion carried.

7. Announcements

- Doreen Tobin announced that there will be a reception and dinner in the Keystone room for the one book one campus program. University members may sponsor students to attend the reception and dinner.
- Doreen Tobin announced on behalf of Barnes & Noble that faculty should inform the bookstore of book selections before Thanksgiving so that the bookstore may notify students regarding the materials to purchase for the upcoming semester.
- Joe Miele asked if the bookstore had a process for determining how many books to order for a given course enrollment. Joe Akob will contact the bookstore manager to find out.

8. Adjournment

• The meeting adjourned at 3:50 pm.