Faculty

Image Caption
Gene White (gwhite@esu.edu)
Department Chair, Professor of Physical Education
B.S., 1975, West Chester University
M.Ed., 1980, West Chester University
Ph.D., 1999, Temple University
Area of Interest: Adapted Physical Education, Psycho-Social Aspects of Physical Education and Physical Activity, Adventure Education, Teaching Personal and Social Responsibility
Curriculum Vita
 
Caroline Kuchinski (ckuchinski@esu.edu)
Graduate Coordinator, Professor of Physical Education
B.S., 1980, East Stroudsburg University
M.Ed., 1986, East Stroudsburg University
Ph.D., 2003, Marywood University
Area of Interest: P-12 Curriculum Mapping, Spectrum of Teaching Styles, Supervision of Student Teachers, Current Research Related to Best Practices in Physical Education
Curriculum Vita
 
Debra Ballinger (dballinger@esu.edu)
Associate Professor of Physical Education Teacher Education
B.S., 1972, Elmhurst College
M.A., 1976, University of South Florida
Ph.D., 1987, Arizona State University
M.C. (counseling), 1987, Arizona State University
Areas of Interest: Psycho-Social-Emotional aspects of Physical Education and Activity,Fitness Assessment & Education, Sport Psychology & Performance Enhancement (Certified Consultant, AASP),Goal Setting and Classroom Management, Diversity Education, Instructional Effectiveness in Physical Education
Curriculum Vita
 
Christine Brett (cbrett@esu.edu)
Associate Professor of Physical Education
B.S., 1993, Russell Sage College
M.S., 1998, University of Southern Mississippi
Ph.D., 2002, Ohio State University
Area of Interest: Socialization of Teachers, Promoting Physical Activity, Supervision of Students Teachers, Assessment
Curriculum Vita
 
Mihye Jeong (mjeong@esu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Physical Education
B.S., 1993, Dong-A University
M.S., 2000, Ewha Womans University
Ph.D., 2008, University of Virginia
Area of Interest: Teachers' Teaching Behavior toward Students with Disabilities, Community-Based Physical Activity Program for Individuals with Disabilities
Curriculum Vita
 
Peng Zhang (pzhang@esu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Physical Education
B.Ed., 2001, Beijing Sport University
M.Ed., 2004, Beijing Sport University
Ph.D., 2008, Ohio State University
Area of Interest: Aquatics and Teaching Strategies in Team & Individual Sports
Curriculum Vita
 
Thomas Ducatte (tducatte@esu.edu)
Instructor of Physical Education
B.S., 1976, Norther Arizona University
M.Ed., 1981 East Stroudsburg University
Area of Interest: Promoting Physical Activity, Physical Education Teacher Education
 
Suzanne Mueller (smueller@esu.edu)
Professor Emeritus of Physical Education
B.S., 1969, East Stroudsburg University
M.Ed., 1973, East Stroudsburg University
Ph.D., 1997, Lehigh University
Area of Interest: Critical Thinking, Standards-Based Physical Education, Spectrum of Teaching Styles, Prosocial Behavior, Promoting Physical Activity, Supervision of Teaching for Learning.
Curriculum Vita
 
Robert Smith (bsmith@esu.edu)
Professor Emeritus of Physical Education
B.S., 1973, East Stroudsburg University
M.Ed., 1985, East Stroudsburg University
Ph.D., 1998, University of Iowa
Area of Interest: Relationship between Academic Performance and Student Fitness Status, Use of the Understanding Design Methodology, Teaching Games for Understanding, NASPE Program Review, Standard-Based Best Practice Related to Teaching Physical Education, Spectrum of Teaching Styles
Curriculum Vita