CMS Login

Nursing

Image Caption

Laura Waters (lwaters@esu.edu)
Department Chair, Associate Professor of Nursing
B.S.N., 1983, Misericordia University
M.S., 1996, Wilkes University
Ph.D., 2009, Widener University
Research: Research interest focuses on nursing professionalism and anger management.





Mary Tod Gray (mgray@esu.edu)
Professor of Nursing
B.S.N., 1965, University of Michigan
M.A., 1969, New York University
Ph.D., 2003, New York University
Research: Research interests include consciousness and its variations, critical thinking, nursing philosophy, phenomenology, and addiction. Clinical interests include interpersonal relationships and communication with individuals experiencing addiction, psychoses and dementia.


Marcia Gasper (mgasper@esu.edu)
Associate Professor of Nursing
B.S.N., 1976, Pennsylvania State University
M.S.N., 1982, University of Pittsburgh
Ed.D., 2003, University of Pittsburgh
Research: Research interests focus on health promotion and disease prevention for childbearing families, and evaluating the use of instructional technology in nursing education.



Patty Hannon (phannon@esu.edu)
Associate Professor of Nursing
B.S.N., 1975, Medical College of Georgia
M.S.N., 1976, Medical College of Georgia
Ph.D., 2004, Pennsylvania State University
Research: Research interests are intergenerational attitudes and alternative therapies.





Laurel Pierangeli (lpierangeli@esu.edu)
Associate Professor of Nursing
R.N., 1974, University of Pennsylvania
B.S., 1981, Marywood University
M.S., 1987, SUNY at Binghamton
Ph.D., 2006, SUNY at Binghamton
Research: Doctoral research involved evaluating the effects of a sexual abstinence program in middle school-aged children from rural and urban areas. Her additional research interest is with "student perceptions of caring for severely disabled children."


Suzanne Fischer Prestoy (sprestoy@esu.edu)
Associate Professor of Nursing
B.S., 1978, Wilkes University
M.S.N., 1980, University of Pennsylvania
Ph.D., 1993, New York University
Research: Current research interests are focused on health care access and the education of a qualified and adequate nursing work force.  She is interested in examining how the number of nurses educated at the baccalaureate and graduate level impacts the population's ability to access health care at the primary and tertiary level.  Dr. Prestoy has received a scholarly sabbatical for the 2011-2012 academic year to research this area.

Claranne Mathiesen (cmathiesen@esu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Nursing
B.S., 1985, East Stroudsburg University
M.S., 1993, Villanova University
Research: Research involves aspects of stroke care and stroke community education.




Paulette Dorney (pdorney@esu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Nursing
B.S.N., 1984, Cedar Crest College
M.S.N., 1989, University of PennsylvaniaPh.D Candidate, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Research: Current research interest focuses on grief and bereavement within the milieu of nursing education, intraprofessional collaboration, and role transition from student nurse to graduate nurse. Clinical interests include care and management of the critically ill patient and family.