Faculty

Image Caption

A faculty with doctorate degrees from outstanding universities create a sense of community and set a standard or excellence in the Early Childhood and Elementary Education Department.

The fifteen, full-time faculty members participate in professional associations and are leaders in ESU teacher education initiatives including the Urban Learning Academy and Professional Development Schools.

Our diverse and expert faculty focuses on student success.

Alberto Alegre aalegre@esu.edu (570)422-3859
Assistant Professor of Early Childhood and Elementary Education
B.S., 1980, University of Barcelona
B.S., 1985, University of Barcelona
M.S., 1991, University of Barcelona
M.A., 2002, Goddard College
Office: 311

Nurun Begum nbegum@esu.edu (570)422-3371
Assistant Professor of Early Childhood and Elementary Education
B.Ed., 1997, University of Dhaka
M.Ed., 1999, University of Dhaka
M.A., 2004, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Ed.D., 2007, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Office: 209M

Margaret Benson mbenson@esu.edu (570)422-3367
Associate Professor of Early Childhood and Elementary Education
B.A., 1975, University of Missouri at Kansas City
M.S., 1989, Florida State University
Ph.D., 1995, Florida State University
Office: 209N

Susan Harlan sharlan@esu.edu (570)422-3044
Associate Professor of Early Childhood and Elementary Education
B.A., 1972, Millersville University of Pennsylvania
M.S., 1981, Marywood College
Ph.D., 1996, Rutgers University
Office: 209B
Interests: Early intervention, preschool curriculum
Favorite Quote: "In the end only kindness matters." - Jewel

Paula Kelberman pkelberman@esu.edu (570)422-3365
Professor of Early Childhood and Elementary Education
B.A., 1973, Douglas College
M.Ed., 1975, Rutgers University
Ed.D., 1988, Rutgers University
Office: 209C

Patricia Pinciotti ppinciotti@esu.edu (570)422-3686
Professor of Early Childhood and Elementary Education
B.A., 1971, Edgecliff College
M.Ed., 1979, Rutgers University
Ed.D., 1982, Rutgers University
Office: 209B

Alison Rutter arutter@esu.edu (570)422-3360
Assistant Professor of Early Childhood and Elementary Education
B.A., 1978, Vassar College
M.A., 1994, Columbia University
M.Ed., 1999, Columbia University
Ed.D., 1999, Columbia University
Office: 209L
Interests: Professional development school history and philosophy, teacher leadership, elementary science inquiry
Favorite Quote: "Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire." - Heraclitus

Andrew Whitehead awhitehead@esu.edu (570)422-3356
Department Chair, Associate Professor of Early Childhood and Elementary Education
B.A., 1986, Pennsylvania State University
M.A., 1993, Marywood University
M.S., 1996, Marywood University
Ph.D., 2002, Marywood University
Office: 209A

Craig Wilson cwilson@esu.edu (570)422-3357
Professor of Early Childhood and Elementary Education
B.S., 1971, Baptist Bible College
M.A., 1982, University of Toledo
Ph.D., 1988, University of Toledo
Office: 209K