Biology, M.Ed., M.S.

Image Caption

College of Arts and Sciences

Department of Biological Sciences

Moore Biology Hall

570-422-3716

www.esu.edu/gradbiol

Faculty

Graduate Coordinator:

Jane Huffman, Ph.D, jhuffman@esu.edu

Professors:

Kathleen Brunkard, Ph.D., kbrunkard@esu.edu

Jane Huffman, Ph.D, jhuffman@esu.edu

Terry Master, Ph.D., tmaster@esu.edu

Howard Whidden, Ph.D., hwhidden@esu.edu

Associate Professors:

Abdalla Aldras, Sc.D., aaldras@esu.edu

James Hunt, Ph.D., jhunt@esu.edu

Thomas LaDuke, Ph.D., tcladuke@esu.edu

Raymond Milewski, Ph.D., rmilewski@esu.edu

Matthew Wallace, Ph.D., mwallace@esu.edu

Jennifer White, Ph.D., jwhite@esu.edu

Assistant Professors:

Maria Kitchens-Kintz, Ph.D., chair, mkkintz@esu.edu

John Smith, Ph.D., johnsmith@esu.edu

Tracy Whitford, Ph.D., twhitford@esu.edu

Paul Wilson, Ph.D., pwilson@esu.edu

Master of Education in Biology

  • 31 credits — Non-thesis option

    39 credits — Non-research option

    Purpose of the M.Ed. Program

    The purpose of the M.Ed. program in biology is designed for students who wish to combine advanced work in biology with graduate work in education. The program is designed to enable students to obtain the knowledge, skills, and methods for teaching science.

    Student Learning Outcomes

    • Understand the standards of ethics and conduct in their profession and behave consistent with these standards
    • Comprehend the impact of their professional decisions and actions upon society, their employer, their profession, and themselves and work diligently to achieve positive outcomes
    • Be proficient in performing research
    • Read, analyze and write consistent with the standards of their field
    • Communicate effectively in a variety of modes using emerging technologies as required in a discipline specific professional setting
    • Identify and understand critical issues
    • Possess the ability to challenge and evaluate information
    • Synthesize and integrate knowledge
    • Demonstrate advanced knowledge and skills. Apply their knowledge and skills in academic, applied or research settings.
    • Formulate new ideas.

    Program of Study

    Thesis Option — 30 Semester Credits

    Required

    BIOL 572

    Thesis I

    3 credits

    Major Field and Related Electives

    *12 credits

    General Education

    3 credits

    Professional Education

    12 credits

    ETS Subject Test

     

    Non-Thesis Option — 31 Semester Credits

    Required

    BIOL 571

    Independent Research Problem

    Semester credits arranged

    Major Field and Related Electives

    *15 semester credits

    Professional Education

    12 credits

    General Education

    3 credits

    Independent Research

    1 credit

    Non-Research Option — 39 Semester Credits

    This program of study emphasizes the broader aspects of graduate studies in biology by requiring more courses in place of the thesis or research problem.

    Required

    Major Field and Related Electives

    *24 credits

    Professional Education

    12 credits

    General Education

    3 credits

    * Three semester credits in the M.Ed. program may be earned in courses taken in related areas such as mathematics, chemistry or physics.

    Undergraduate prerequisites required:

    The student is strongly advised to have a statistics course before initiating the thesis or the research problem.

Master of Science in Biology

  • 31 credits — Non-thesis option

    39 credits — Non-research option

    Purpose of the M.S. Program

    The purpose of the M.S. program in biology is to provide students with a comprehensive foundational knowledge in their area of specialty, a high degree of competence in research design and methods, and communication skills.

    Student Learning Outcomes

    • Understand the standards of ethics and conduct in their profession and behave consistent with these standards
    • Comprehend the impact of their professional decisions and actions upon society, their employer, their profession, and themselves and work diligently to achieve positive outcomes
    • Be proficient in performing research
    • Read, analyze and write consistent with the standards of their field
    • Communicate effectively in a variety of modes using emerging technologies as required in a discipline specific professional setting
    • Identify and understand critical issues
    • Possess the ability to challenge and evaluate information
    • Synthesize and integrate knowledge
    • Demonstrate advanced knowledge and skills. Apply their knowledge and skills in academic, applied or research settings.
    • Formulate new ideas.

    Program of Study

    Thesis Option — 30 Semester Credits

    Required

    BIOL 572

    Thesis I

    3 credits

    BIOL 573

    Thesis II

    3 credits

    Major Field and Related Electives

    *24 credits

    Non-Thesis Option — 31 Semester Credits

    Required

    BIOL 571

    Independent Research Problem

    Semester credits arranged

    Major Field and Related Electives

    *30 credits

    Independent Research

    1 credit

    ETS Subject Test

     

    Non-Research Option – 39 Semester Credits

    This program of study emphasizes the broader aspects of graduate studies in biology by requiring more courses in place of the thesis or research problem.

    Required

    Major Field or Related Electives

    *39 credits

    *Six semester credits in the M.S. program may be earned in courses taken in related areas such as mathematics, chemistry, or physics.

    Undergraduate prerequisites required:

    The student is strongly advised to have a statistics course before initiating the thesis or the research problem.

Course Descriptions