CMS Login

Parking Guidelines

Image Caption

The East Stroudsburg University Police Department is responsible for enforcing Parking and Traffic Guidelines. These Guidelines were established to provide the University Community with a safe and orderly environment in which to conduct its business and studies.

The authority to regulate traffic and parking comes from Title 18, Section 7505 (Violation of Governmental Rules Regarding Traffic) of the Consolidated Pennsylvania Statutes, which allows each Commonwealth agency to promulgate rules and regulations governing both parking and vehicular traffic on properties under the jurisdiction of that agency. The Commonwealth sets fines and costs for violations of such regulations.

The University and Commonwealth of Pennsylvania assume no responsibility or liability for loss or damage to any motor vehicle (or contents) parked or driven on its property. The University Police shall have the authority to temporarily close or restrict parking or traffic flow on the ESU campus. This includes but is not limited to special events, snow removal and athletic contests.

It should be noted that Title 75, The Pennsylvania Vehicle Code, is enforced on all properties of the University and that all roadways are considered highways for enforcement purposes. The Vehicle Code defines a highway as “The entire width between the boundary lines of every way publicly maintained when any part thereof is open to the use of the public for purposes of vehicular travel. The term includes a roadway open to the use of the public for vehicular travel on grounds of a college or university or public or private school or public or historical park.”

Parking guidelines help to ensure that there is an orderly system in place for all who use vehicles when coming to campus. They also ensure the safe operation of all vehicles while at the University. You are encouraged to voluntarily comply with these guidelines; individuals who disregard them will receive appropriate sanctions.

The University Police Department is open 24 hours daily, however normal business hours are Monday through Friday from 8am to 4pm.

The Parking Office hours are Monday through Friday from 8am to 4pm.

Operator Responsibility

The operation of a motor vehicle on this campus is a privilege, and the university reserves the right to restrict, suspend or revoke this privilege for just cause. Failure to have read the guidelines governing all motor vehicles on the campus of East Stroudsburg University shall not constitute a valid excuse for non-compliance. Vehicles parking on campus must be registered with the University Police, located in Hemlock Suites.

Registration

All motor vehicles (defined as any self-propelled vehicle) parking on campus must be registered. Applicants for registration of a vehicle must possess a current driver’s license, an e-card, and a current state vehicle registration card.

Every Fall semester eligible students, Commuters, and those who have a least 60 credits or are at least 21 years of age, shall register their vehicle within one (1) week of the first day of classes. Students not enrolled during the Fall semester, but who enroll for the first time in the Spring semester shall register their vehicle within one week of the first day of classes. During the first week of class students can only park in student parking areas and must park in those appropriate areas. Resident first and second year students that are under age 21 and have less than 60 credits may not have a vehicle on campus, at any time, unless they have authorization from Residence Life (SPECIAL PARKING PERMIT) or the Director of Parking-Transportation & Security Services. Students with any unpaid parking violations will not be eligible to register for a parking permit until all violations have been paid in full.

Each employee must register his/her vehicle within one week of the first day of his/her employment. The registration is valid until termination of employment or until a campus-wide re-registration for this category of permit is conducted.

Upon sale, trade or other disposition of any vehicle displaying a current parking permit (decal, hangtag, or temporary permit), the owner or custodian of such vehicle shall be responsible for the removal of the decal, hangtag or permit. Then the owner or custodian of the vehicle shall turn in the decal, hangtag or permit to University Police for transfer to the owner’s new vehicle or for destruction. Furthermore, when an employee terminates employment or retires, the employee must turn in the hangtag to University Police. Employees determined to be Emeritus will continue to be issued a hangtag.

Fraudulent Registration

Any person who is issued a University parking permit in violation of these guidelines or a person who uses or displays it shall be issued a ticket for fraudulent registration which carries a fine of $25.00. The giving of false information to University Police to obtain a parking permit will result in prosecution. Fraudulent registration includes but is not limited to:

  • Multiple vehicle registration for the same period, except as permitted by University guidelines;
  • Registration of a vehicle which is to be used by a person who is not authorized a permit for University parking;
  • Use of a “Temporary Permit/Day Pass” by Faculty, Staff, or Student unless the University police authorizes the use;
  • Alteration to or counterfeit of a permit;
  • Displaying someone’s permit on a vehicle which is not authorized to be registered for a permit.
  • Misrepresentation of an individual’s eligibility (including local address) to secure a University parking permit.

Faculty/Staff Permits (Hangtags)

Each Faculty or Staff member or Emeritus retired employee who wishes to park a vehicle on University property must have a valid parking permit for the vehicle at all times. There is no charge for Faculty and Staff Hangtags. The University Police Department issues permits during regular business hours. Vehicle registration, ecard or drivers license is required. Retired Emeritus employees need also present their ESU e-card/ID or copy of the ESU letter appointing them Emeritus. Multiple vehicles may be registered, but only one hangtag will be issued and that hangtag must be properly displayed on the registered vehicle while it is parked on campus.

Faculty/Staff (F/S) permits are exclusively for use by the members of the University Faculty or Staff and are not transferable. Only the person who registered for the permit may use the F/S permit. The vehicle may not be parked on University property by anyone other than the employee. The employee’s spouse or significant other and dependents attending class on campus may not use the F/S permit. Violations of this section will result in a $25.00 fine and the permit may be revoked.

Faculty and Staff may only park in designated F/S Lots 24 hours a day 7 days a week all year. Student employees may not be issued Faculty/Staff permits. There will be no exceptions.

Tutor Permits

Each Tutor who wishes to park a vehicle on University property must have a valid parking permit for the vehicle at all times. The University Parking Department issues permits during regular business hours. Vehicle registration is required. Graduate students who also serve as a Tutor, will be issued a student parking permit. Only one permit will be issued.

Only the person who registered for the permit may use it; the permit is not transferable. The vehicle may not be parked on University property by anyone other than the Tutor. The Tutor’s spouse or significant other and dependents attending class on campus may not use this permit. Violations of this section will result in a $25.00 fine and the permit being revoked.

Commuting Student Permits (Hangtag)

Commuting students to include graduate and continuing education students who wish to park on campus are required to have a valid commuter parking permit. Cost is $55.00/Semester and $110/year. Only one permit will be issued.

To be eligible for a commuter permit, the student must live off campus. If the student later becomes a resident student then he/she has 48 hours to report to University Police to turn-in the commuter parking permit and receive a different parking permit as appropriate.

Only one vehicle may be registered and vehicle registration is required. The student or a member of the student’s immediate family, must own the vehicle registered by a student. If the student’s last name does not match the owner of the vehicle’s last name then proof of relationship is required, i.e., a notarized letter from the owner of the vehicle. The person, in whose name a vehicle is registered will be held responsible for complying with the University Parking guidelines and any parking violations and fines, regardless of who was operating the vehicle at the time of the violation. Commuter students are not permitted to use their permit on or register a vehicle whose owner/operator is a student or the parent(s) of a student or other relative of a student.

Commuter permits allow the operator to park in designated areas only. Those areas are denoted by a Blue hang tag with the word commuter on the parking permit. Commuters must park in a designated commuter lot until 3:30 pm; from 3:30 pm to 2:00 am, with a current valid ESU permit, commuters may park in any available open space that is not otherwise reserved.

This restriction is enforced 24 hours a day 7 days a week all year. REMEMBER, a valid permit is required at all times to park on the campus of East Stroudsburg University.

University Ridge Student Permits

Students to include graduate and continuing education students who live at the University Ridge Apartments are required to have a valid parking permit. Cost is $45.00/Semester or $90 per year. Only one permit will be issued.

If the student later becomes a resident student on campus or moves out of the University Ridge Apartments and becomes a commuting student then he/she has 48 hours to report to University Police to turn-in the University Ridge permit and receive a different parking permit as appropriate.

Only one vehicle may be registered and vehicle registration is required. The student or a member of the student’s immediate family, must own the vehicle registered by a student. If the student’s last name does not match the owner of the vehicle’s last name then proof of relationship is required, i.e., a notarized letter from the owner of the vehicle. The person, in whose name a vehicle is registered, will be held responsible for complying with the University Parking Guidelines and any parking violations and fines, regardless of who was operating the vehicle at the time of the violation. Students are not permitted to use their permit on or register a vehicle whose owner/operator is a student or the parent(s) of a student or other relative of a student.

University Ridge permits allow the operator to park at the University Ridge Apartments anytime and on campus weeknights from 3:30pm to 2am and on the weekends from Friday 3:30pm to 2am Sunday night (Monday morning) in any commuter lot with their current, valid ESU permit.

Resident Student Permits (Students With 60 or More Credits or 21-Years-of-Age or Older)

Resident students who wish to park their vehicles on campus are required to have a valid parking permit. Only one permit will be issued. Cost is $55.00/Semester or $110/year.

Only one vehicle may be registered and vehicle registration is required. The student or a member of the student’s immediate family, must own the vehicle registered by a student. If the student’s last name does not match the owner of the vehicle’s last name then proof of relationship is required, i.e., a notarized letter from the owner of the vehicle. The person, in whose name a vehicle is registered, will be held responsible for complying with the University Parking Guidelines and any parking violations and fines, regardless of who was operating the vehicle at the time of the violation. Students are not permitted to use their permit on or register a vehicle whose owner/operator is a student or the parent(s) of a student or other relative of a student.

Resident students are restricted to legal parking spaces in their designated areas Monday through Friday. From Friday at 3:30 pm to 2am Monday with a current, valid ESU permit you may park in Lots 38, 8, 9, 12, 13.

If the student later moves off campus and becomes a commuter student, then he/she has 48 hours to report to University Police to turn-in the resident parking permit and receive a commuter permit.

Restricted Student Permits (Resident Students With Less than 60 Credits and Under 21 Years of Age)

East StroudsburgUniveritystudents residing in campus housing with less than 60 credits, who are less than 21 years of age, are not permitted to have vehicles on campus.

There are exceptions to this guideline. Students covered by this restriction must demonstrate a compelling need or conditions involving unusual personal hardship to secure a permit to have a car on campus. Contact the Director of Residence Life, c/o Special Parking Committee, East Stroudsburg University, Hemlock Suites, for an application or with questions. If the committee grants an exception to this guideline, then the student will report to University Police for issuance of a parking permit. Special Parking cost is $55.00/Semester, and student must reapply each semester.

Only one vehicle may be registered and vehicle registration is required. The student or a member of the student’s immediate family, must own the vehicle registered by a student. If the student’s last name does not match the owner of the vehicle’s last name then proof of relationship is required, i.e., a notarized letter from the owner of the vehicle. The person, in whose name a vehicle is registered, will be held responsible for complying with the University Parking Guidelines and any parking violations and fines, regardless of who was operating the vehicle at the time of the violation. Students are not permitted to use their permit on or register a vehicle whose owner/operator is a student or the parent(s) of a student or other relative of a student.

Restricted permits are good for one semester at a time and require a new application for each semester.

Students are not permitted to bring their vehicles to campus before having the waiver approved. Parking is limited and there are few places in East Stroudsburg Borough that do not require parking permits to park. Students are responsible for any ticket issued by the University or the Borough because the vehicle does not display a parking permit. Individuals with restricted permits must park in the Gwendolyn parking lot. This restriction is enforced 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Signs take precedence. Persons granted special exception to these regulations and receive five or more parking tickets (paid or unpaid) will have their parking privileges revoked.

Physically Challenged Student Permits

Students with physical disabilities may request accommodations. There are two different processes in registering a vehicle for a physically challenged permit.

  • Students who have been issued a state handicap (H/C) placard and/or license plate are required to bring into the University Police department the vehicle registration, state identification card for the H/C placard and photo identification.
  • Students with a physical disability, but who do not have a state H/C placard or license plate issued to them, may request accommodations through the disabilities office. For further information contact Danelle McClanahan Director of Diversity and the Americans with Disabilities Act compliance officer. Once the request is approved, bring the approval letter into the University Police Department for issuance of a physically challenged permit.

Physically challenged permits allow the student to park in any legal student, Commuter or Resident, parking space on campus except spaces designated for police vehicles, facilities management vehicles, reserved spaces, H/C spaces (unless the individual is the owner of a H/C state placard or license plate), and spaces near residence halls posted for Apartment Resident Director which are enforced 24 hours a day.

Only one vehicle may be registered and vehicle registration is required. The student or a member of the student’s immediate family, must own the vehicle registered by a student. If the student’s last name does not match the owner of the vehicle’s last name then proof of relationship is required, i.e., a notarized letter from the owner of the vehicle. The person, in whose name a vehicle is registered, will be held responsible for complying with the University Parking Guidelines and any parking violations and fines, regardless of who was operating the vehicle at the time of the violation. Students are not permitted to use their permit on or register a vehicle whose owner/operator is a student or the parent(s) of a student or other relative of a student.

Vendors

A valid parking permit for your vehicle is required at all times when parking on University property. Representatives of service companies and contractors may apply for a parking permit.

Vendors with highly recognizable vehicle logos performing routine deliveries/pick-ups at University buildings and requiring less than 30 minutes temporary parking are exempt from any permit requirement.

Government vehicles displaying municipal, state or federal license plates are exempt from the permit requirement.

Visitors

A visitor or guest is defined as anyone who is not a student or employee of East Stroudsburg University. Visitors are always welcome at East Stroudsburg University. There are a number of ways to use our parking facilities. Visitors may park in designated visitor space, lot 29, for a period not to exceed four hours or in a posted 30 minute parking space on campus without obtaining a permit. Visitors may also park in other than visitor parking spaces provided he/she obtains a parking permit for the appropriate area from University Police immediately upon arriving on campus. Visitors associated with the Admission’s Office should receive a parking permit from that office. If one was not provided then obtain a parking permit from University Police upon arriving on campus.

A visitor who receives a parking ticket for not “displaying a valid permit” may have the fine excused by bringing the parking ticket to the University Police Department within 24 hours of issuance and establishing his/her visitor’s status. The University will excuse only this type of violation and only one time. A visitor may not have any other violation voided.

Alternate Vehicles

Faculty, Staff, commuter students, resident students, university ridge students and physically challenged students who operate an alternate vehicle when a registered vehicle is temporarily not available need only transfer his/her permit (hangtag) to the new car. Students are not permitted to use their permit on a vehicle whose owner/operator is a student or the parent(s) of a student or other relative of a student. If use of an alternate vehicle is needed for longer than 48 hours, then the vehicle must be registered with the University Police Department. If you forget to transfer the permit, a one-day permit may be picked up at the University Police Department during regular business hours. These permits, which must be displayed on the front dash with all entries visible, allow the same parking privileges as the registrant’s regular permit.

Lost or Stolen Parking Permits

It is the responsibility of the registered owner of a permit to report the loss or theft of such permit to the University Police Department. Failure to report the loss or theft of a permit will not be considered a valid reason for appeal of a parking ticket.

The reporting person will be required to complete a Parking Permit Loss Report. This report will be kept on file at the University Police Department. There is a non refundable $20 replacement fee for lost or stolen permits.

Any person found in possession of a lost or stolen permit may have his/her parking privileges suspended or revoked for a period of not less than six (6) months or more than one (1) year. He/She also faces the possibility of having charges filed against them under the most appropriate section(s) of the Pennsylvania Crimes Code and referred to University Judicial Affairs.

It is also a violation of Pennsylvania Law for a person to make a false report to law enforcement authorities. Violators may be prosecuted under section 4906 of the Pennsylvania Crimes Code: False Reports to Law Enforcement Authorities.

Display of Parking Permits

Anyone parking on university property must display a current parking permit. Vehicles with expired parking permits are considered to be on an unregistered vehicle and are not permitted to park on campus, except for open parking hours, special events, and at metered parking.

Faculty and Staff (F/S) Parking Permits (hangtags) - Faculty and Staff parking permits must be displayed on the rearview mirror with the permit visible from the outside of the vehicle (with the number side facing the windshield). If the operator decides to place the permit in any other manner, he/she is responsible for the issued ticket.

Tutor Parking Permits- The parking permit must be displayed on the rearview mirror with the expiration date facing the windshield. If the operator decides to place the permit in any other manner, he/she is responsible for the issued ticket.

Student Parking Permits:

  • All commuter student parking permits (blue hangtags), resident student permits (yellow hangtag), Physically Challenged, and restricted student parking permits (students with less than 60 credits and not 21 years of age) must be displayed on the rearview mirror with the permit number and date clearly visible from the outside of the vehicle (with the number side facing the windshield). If the operator decides to place the permit in any other manner, he/she is responsible for the issued ticket.
  • University Ridge student parking permits must be displayed on the rearview mirror with the permit number and date clearly visible from the outside of the vehicle (with the number facing the windshield). If the operator decides to place the permit in any other manner, he/she is responsible for the issued ticket.

Motorcycle Permits – Faculty/Staff and students with a motorcycle must register the motorcycle and obtain a parking permit. Motorcycle decals must be displayed on the front fork by the inspection sticker. Motorcycles may park in designated motorcycle parking areas that are throughout campus or in any legal space determined by their permit. Motorcycle parking is for all motorcycles regardless of faculty, staff or student affiliation. This decal can be picked up at the University Police parking office during normal business hours.

Visitor Parking Permits – A visitor to the University must display a visitor-parking permit. The permit must be displayed on the front dash with all entries visible. This permit can be picked up at the University Police Department during normal business hours. Visitors associated with the Admission’s Office will display a parking pass on their dash provided by the Admission’s Office. The university Residence Hall visitation hours are Monday through Thursday 10am to 1am, and on weekends starting at 10am Friday through 1am on Monday.

Vendor Permits – Vehicles operated by persons doing work for or contracting with the University must display a vendor’s parking permit. The permit must be displayed on the rearview mirror with the expiration date facing the windshield. If a day pass is issued then it must be displayed on the front dash with all entries visible. Parking permits can be picked up at the University Police Department during normal business hours.

Government Vehicles – Government Vehicles displaying OFFICIAL USE registration plates are exempt from the permit requirements of these regulations, but notification to the parking department should be made when parking on campus.

General Guidelines - Parking

Parking, for the purpose of these guidelines, is defined as leaving a vehicle without a driver in attendance regardless of the time period involved.

University parking guidelines are in effect all year, including periods when classes are not in session.

These guidelines are enforced 24-hours-a-day; parking permits are required at all times. Faculty and Staff parking areas are monitored all year round.

Lot Restrictions – University parking Lots are numbered and designated as either, Faculty/Staff, Commuter, Resident or visitor . All Lots are restricted by parking permit designation.

There is no overnight parking (11pm to 7am) in the following areas:

  • Upper and Lower Stadium Lots - lot 7, lot 6
  • Residence life commuter lot
  • Normal Street - lot 31
  • Smith Street (metered parking)
  • RecreationCenter lot - lot 11
  • AlumniCenter lot - lot 39
  • Center Street - lot 2

Vehicles parked outside of designated spaces will be ticketed, and if determined to be a traffic hazard, may be towed at the owner’s expense. The fact that one vehicle is parked in such a manner as to occupy more than one parking space is not an acceptable excuse for another to do the same.

Commuter, resident, and restricted permission students registered to park on campus are required to park in their designated parking lots. This restriction is enforced 24 hours a day 7 days a week.

University Ridge students are required to park at the University Ridge Apartments with ONE exception. On campus parking is allowed on weeknights from 3:30pm to 2am and on the weekends from Friday 3:30pm to 2am Sunday night (Monday morning) in any commuter lot. Parking in any other lot is not permitted.

University parking guidelines apply to the registrant of a vehicle. Any ticket issued to that vehicle will be the responsibility of the person who registered the vehicle, regardless of who was operating the vehicle at the time the ticket was issued. Any ticket issued to a non-registered vehicle will be assigned to the person affiliated with the University (such as students, faculty and staff) unless the driver of the vehicle is a visitor. In this case the visitor is responsible for the issued ticket.

Vehicles cannot enter any area closed by barricade or other traffic control device except as authorized by the University Police Department. People moving barricades will have their vehicle ticketed and may be towed at the owner’s expense.

The fact that an individual has been issued a parking permit does not guarantee a parking space (close to the core of campus). The responsibility to find an authorized parking space rests with the operator of the vehicle. It is not acceptable to cite the inability to locate an authorized parking space as a reason for violating University parking guidelines.

Towing and Booting – The University reserves the right to immobilize (boot) or remove abandoned vehicles or vehicles in violation of University parking guidelines. Refer to the towing and booting section in this guideline for details.

Disabled Vehicles – The University Police Department must be notified about all inoperable vehicles. The person operating the vehicle must remain with it until the officer arrives to determine if there is a hazard. If a hazard exists the operator must arrange to have it removed immediately, otherwise the operator has 24 hours to remove the vehicle from campus. Failure to notify University police concerning a disabled vehicle will result in the operator being held responsible for any parking tickets issued to that vehicle and/or any fee associated with removal of the vehicle from campus. It is the responsibility of the owner/operator of the vehicle to report to University Police and complete a disabled vehicle report.

It is not possible to mark with signs or paint all areas where parking is prohibited. However, the following guidelines will be strictly enforced. You may not park a vehicle or permit it to stand attended or unattended:

  • Without displaying a valid permit;
  • In reserved spaces without a proper permit;
  • In “no parking” areas;
  • In a handicapped space without proper plate or placard;
  • In fire lanes, fire exits or within 15 feet of a fire hydrant;
  • Blocking doorways;
  • In loading zones unless actually loading or unloading. Flashers must be on and time is limited to 20 minutes. Loading vehicles may not violate any provisions of the Pennsylvania State Vehicle Code, and may not park in any posted space;
  • In service entrances, construction sites, or spaces reserved for maintenance vehicles;
  • On lawns, sidewalks, crosswalks, parking lot driveways and curb cuts for persons with disabilities or straddling painted lines;
  • Within 30 feet of a stop sign;
  • In areas where the permit is not valid;
  • Over or adjacent to curbs painted yellow;
  • Against the flow of traffic;
  • On roadways, in traffic lanes or within intersections.

Motorcycles must park in the designated motorcycle parking areas that are throughout campus. Motorcycle parking is for all motorcycles regardless of faculty, staff or student affiliation.

Any person desiring to make other than emergency repairs on his/her vehicle may not use University property to do so. Parking lots may not be used for storage of vehicles. Owners of multiple vehicles may only park one vehicle on campus at any given time. Any vehicle parked on the properties of the University must be removed within 48 hours of school closing. Vehicles left on University properties for more than five (5) days will be declared abandoned or derelict and will be removed at the owner’s expense.

Handicap Parking

  • Handicapped parking has been designated throughout the campus. These areas are marked with Handicapped signs. The unauthorized use of these spaces will result in a fine of $50 to $200. The vehicle may also be towed at the owner’s expense.
  • Use of a handicapped space is restricted by law to vehicles occupied by persons who are handicapped and which bear an authorized Handicapped plate or placard. (See Title 75 section 3354(d)(1)(2)(3).) It is not legal for any person to use parking set aside for the Handicapped when the person for whom the Handicapped plate or placard is not in the vehicle.
  • Handicapped violations may be appealed to the Director of Parking, Transportation and Security Services. Persons wishing to have a hearing on a handicapped violation may do so at the District Justice Office after a state citation is issued for failure to pay the original parking ticket.

RESERVED SPACES - All reserved parking spaces are marked with signs and are reserved 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, with the exception of those locations that have times indicated on the signs. The unauthorized use of these spaces will result in a fine of $15.00. The vehicle may also be towed at the owner’s expense.

NOTE: The Chief of University Police and/or the Director of Parking and Transportation reserves the right to revoke or suspend a person’s parking privileges based on cause. The Chief or Director will also provide the name of any student charged with ten parking/moving violations in any semester to the Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs for disciplinary action.

Traffic Guidelines

The traffic laws as provided by the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code shall apply on University property.

Operators of vehicles may be cited for violations under all appropriate sections of the Vehicle Code, or under section 7505 of the Pennsylvania Crimes Code: Government Rules Regarding Traffic.

Unless otherwise indicated, the maximum speed limit on University property and adjoining roadways is 15-miles-per-hour.

Exceeding the speed limit or otherwise operating a motor vehicle in a reckless manner is grounds for revocation of parking and driving privileges on University property.

No person shall operate a motor vehicle at a greater speed than is reasonable and prudent under existing conditions.

No person shall operate a motor vehicle so as to cause noise which is unreasonably loud, raucous, jarring, disturbing or a nuisance to persons within the area of audibility.

Driving on grass or sidewalks is prohibited at all times, except for University Emergency vehicles performing official duties.

Motor vehicle accidents that occur on University property should be reported to the University police.

Accidents that cause the vehicle to be inoperative or involving injury (no matter how slight) must be reported to University police. Accident reports are available to the named parties in the report or upon written request for your insurance company; there is a $5.00 fee charged for each copy.

Motorcycles and motorbikes, including mopeds, shall be operated only on roadways of the University and in accordance with the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code.

Drivers of any vehicle (including human powered vehicles) are prohibited from wearing headphones or any device that impairs the driver’s ability to hear sound.

The Pennsylvania Vehicle Code requires that all vehicles MUST yield the right of way to pedestrians in a marked crosswalk.

All vehicles must be operated in a safe manner, and drivers are required to obey all traffic signs, signals, devices, and instructions from authorized persons directing traffic.

NOTE: The University Police have joint jurisdiction with Borough Police in certain areas located around University property.

Towing and Booting

The University reserves the right to immobilize (boot) or to remove and impound abandoned vehicles or any vehicle found on campus:

  • That have three or more unpaid parking tickets;
  • With an unauthorized, altered or revoked permit;
  • Without a license plate;
  • With an expired license plate/vehicle registration;
  • Parked in driveways, fire lanes, reserved or service vehicle spaces, and reserved lots;
  • In repeated violation of parking guidelines;
  • Blocking a loading dock or trash dumpster;
  • Parked in an area designated as a construction zone or in an area which requires emergency repairs;
  • Parked in such a way as to constitute a hazard to vehicular or pedestrian traffic or to the movement and operation of emergency equipment.

The owner will be responsible for costs involved in removing, impounding and storing such a vehicle, including any expenses charged by the towing company as a “show-up” fee or road service fee.

The owner or operator will have 72 hours from the date the immobilizing device was placed on the vehicle to make payment in full for any unpaid tickets (if applicable) plus an additional fee for the removal of the immobilizing device. The boot will not be removed until all outstanding fees are paid in full.(including a boot fee). If the total amount of fees is not paid within 72 hours, the vehicle will be towed off campus. The owner or operator of the vehicle will pay the towing and storage fees at the office of the designated tower. The owner or operator must first report to the University Police Department for a release form prior to the release of the vehicle from the towing company. Prior to receiving the release form all fines owed to the University must be paid.

Accidents and Inoperable Vehicles

Accidents that involve vehicles and that occur on University property (where there is an injury, no matter how slight, or the vehicle is inoperable) must be reported immediately to the University Police Department. University police must be notified of any vehicle that becomes inoperable; 4 way flashers or notes on the vehicle are not considered sufficient notice. The driver must return to and stay with the vehicle (unless you are advised otherwise by the dispatcher) until a University police officer arrives to determine if there is a hazard. If he/she determines the vehicle is a hazard, the operator must arrange to have it removed immediately; otherwise, the operator has 24 hours to remove the vehicle from campus. It is the responsibility of the owner/operator of the vehicle to report to University Police and complete a disabled vehicle report.

Any vehicle that is determined to be a hazard by University police can be removed at the request of the Department. The owner of the vehicle will be responsible for any charges associated with the removal and any parking ticket that is issued. Vehicles found in violation of parking guidelines will not have fines excused because the vehicle is determined to be inoperable, if the operator of the vehicle failed to notify the department of its location and condition.

Motorcycle Regulations

For the purpose of these guidelines, the term “motorcycle” includes mopeds, motor scooters and all other two- and three-wheeled vehicles operated by motor.

Parking permits are required for all motorcycles. Bring registration and ecard to University Police parking office for decal, Monday through Friday from 8am to 4pm.

Motorcycles are not permitted to be parked in University buildings, or behind Stroud Hall. Motorcycles found inside University buildings, or parked under Stroud Hall will be ticketed and removed by University police. Any expense incurred will be charged to the operator of the motorcycle.

Motorcycles may park in any legal space as designated by their tag and it is recommended that they park in designated motorcycle parking areas located throughout campus. See map.

Appeals of Parking Violations

Operators wishing to question a parking violation must file an appeal with the University Police Department within 5 business days of receiving the citation. Appeals will not be accepted unless they are submitted on the proper form and the original Notice of Violation (ticket/citation) is attached. Appeals will be handled in accordance with the University Parking Appeals procedures in effect at that time.

Violations of the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code may not be appealed. State Citations may be issued at the time of violation for any State Violation versus issuing an ESU citation/ticket. If a State Citation is issued then the operator may request a hearing before the District Justice.

An ESU citation/ticket for a non parking violation is not eligible for appeal through the standard appeals process. If you are issued an ESU citation for a moving violation you may appeal the violation directly to the Officer at the time of incident and a Pennsylvania State citation would be written in lieu of the ESU citation to allow the operator to request a hearing before the district court if he/she so desire. Handicap violations can be appealed directly to the Director of Parking-Transportation & Security Services.

Payment of Fines
Registered students can pay their parking fines online through their “My ESU Portal”. Fines may also be paid at Enrollment Services by check or money order. Please do not send cash in the mail. If paying by check make it payable to East Stroudsburg University and place your license plate number in the memo box along with the ticket/citation number. The Department will not be responsible for cash sent through the mail or deposited in the red collection box located inside of the University Police Department lobby. NOTE: A hold will be put on a student’s records if he/she is delinquent in paying any fines to the university. The student’s records will remain on hold until the fines are paid in full.

Refunds
Refunds for parking permits will be issued on the same basis as the Tuition Refund Policy, which can be reviewed on the ESU home page. Students who are asked to leave for disciplinary reasons, or those who have their parking privileges revoked for fraudulent registration or repeat violation of ESU parking regulations are not eligible to receive a refund. Refund requests will be submitted in the Parking Department office and processed by the Business Office.

Summary of Vehicle and Parking Guidelines

All traffic and parking guidelines are enforced 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Driver’s Responsibilities

  • Registration – Any vehicle parked on the University campus must be registered and display a current East Stroudsburg University Parking Permit.
  • Finding Authorized Space – Registration of a vehicle in no way guarantees that a parking space convenient for the individual will be provided. The responsibility for finding a legal space rests with the motor vehicle operator. Lack of a parking space (close to the core of campus), mechanical problems, inclement weather or other problems does not justify parking violations.
  • Permit Ownership – A parking permit signifies an individual has been granted the privilege of parking on University property. Any citation (other than moving violations) will be assigned to the person who registered the vehicle. When the vehicle is not registered, the University assigns the violations to the student for vehicles registered in his/her name or to his/her family.
  • Permit Display – Parking permits or passes must be displayed according to the parking regulations or special instructions provided by the University Police Department at the time of issue. A parking permit is not considered valid unless it is displayed correctly on the vehicle.

Pedestrian Safety

The University wishes to promote pedestrian safety and the following regulations are being enforced to assist pedestrian and vehicular traffic to operate in a safe manner.

Pedestrians must use marked crosswalks at all times.

The driver of any vehicle must yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian in a marked crosswalk or within any unmarked crosswalk at an intersection. The pedestrian must exercise care when entering any crosswalk. He/she should not suddenly leave a curb or other place of safety and walk or run into the path of a vehicle, which is so close as to constitute a hazard.

The driver of any vehicle that is approaching an intersection or a marked crosswalk may not pass a vehicle that is stopped to permit a pedestrian to cross the roadway.

Pedestrians crossing the highway at any point other than at an intersection or a marked crosswalk must yield the right-of-way to all vehicles.

Any vehicle emerging from or entering any alley, building, private road, driveway or parking lot shall yield to the right-of-way to any pedestrian approaching on the sidewalk extending across the alley, building entrance, road or driveway.

Skateboards and Roller Skates/Blades - Because of the dense traffic patterns, roller skates, roller blades, scooters, skateboards and other coasting devices are prohibited on University roadways, parking lots, sidewalks, athletic courts, and in buildings.

Campus Shuttle Bus Service

To meet the needs of students without vehicles or who wish to use public transportation, the University uses a shuttle operated by Easton Coach. To use the bus students only need to present a valid ESU e-card/ID.

Black Shuttle
(approximately every 20 minutes)
Innovation Center, University Ridge, KFH, FMC (Facilities Management Complex), Zimbar, Recreation Center then back to Innovation Center

Red Shuttle
(approximately every 20 minutes)
Ridge, KFH, FMC, Zimbar, and Recreation Center, Ridge

Express Shuttle
(from 7:30 AM until 8:45 AM, runs from Ridge, approximately every 15 minutes)Ridge, FMC, FA (Fine Arts), Ridge.

Last run from Ridge on the express is at 8:45 AM. From then on Express Shuttle goes on a loop from FA to FMC (with stops at Library upon rider request)

Hours:

Innovation Center/Ridge Shuttle: starting at Innovation Center at 7:20 AM; last run returns to Innovation Center at 10:30 PM, Monday – Friday

University Ridge Shuttle: starting at University Ridge at 7:20 AM; last run returns to Ridge at 2:30 PM, Monday – Thursday; and at 2:00 PM on Friday

Express Shuttle: starting at University Ridge at 7:30 AM; last run from Ridge on express at 8:45 AM; runs Monday – Thursday till 3:30 PM; and Friday till 2:30 PM

Shuttle bus service is provided during the fall and spring semesters when classes are in session

Other Services

Jump-starts – The University Police Department provides jump packs to assist you when your vehicle needs jump-started. You can request this assistance at the University Police Department. You must provide your campus e-card/ID or license as a deposit while using the jump pack.

Lockout Service – The University Police Department will provide assistance in cases of vehicle lockouts by opening the vehicle or facilitating contact with a locksmith if necessary.

Escort Service – For personal safety, you may request an escort to or from your vehicle or other campus location. This service is available during nighttime hours by calling 422-3064 or extension 3064 on a campus telephone.

Answers to Common Parking Questions

I am a Resident Student With Less Than 60 Credits. Why Can’t I Have a Permit?

  • Due to the number of available parking spaces, the University has restricted parking privileges to students who have 60 or more credits.
  • Students with less than 60 credits may still be issued a parking permit if they can show need for one. For a complete explanation of these guidelines contact the Residence Life Office.
  • The University will consider these requests on a first-come basis.
  • Parking permits issued to students with less than 60 credits are considered to be Restricted Permits and allow the operator to park in a designated lot ONLY—24 hours a day seven days a week.
  • Do not enlist a friend to register your vehicle for you; this is a fraudulent registration and you can both be fined and have your parking privileges revoked.

What is the cost for Parking on Campus?

  • Commuter students: $55/semester or $110/year.
  • Resident students: $55/semester or $110/year.
  • Special parking: $55/semester or $110/year.
  • University Ridge:; $45/semester or $90/year.

What Do I Do If I Get a Ticket?

  • Registered students can pay their parking fines online through their My ESU Portal. Ticket payment can also be made at Enrollment Services by check or money order. If you wish to appeal the ticket you must file an appeal with the University Police Department within 5 business days of receiving the ticket/citation.
  • Parking tickets issued for violation of the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code cannot be appealed through the University. These violations will become a state citation if not paid (or a state citation may have been issued instead of a university ticket). In this case you may request a hearing before the District Justice at that time.
  • Do not ignore a parking ticket. You risk having your parking privileges revoked and your vehicle towed or booted at your expense.

What Are The Potential Fines?

  • Unauthorized parking in handicapped space $50.00 - $200.00
  • Fraudulent registration: $25.00 + Loss of parking privileges
  • Parking on grass $15.00 (+damages)
  • Parking outside designated space $15.00
  • Parking against the flow of traffic $15.00
  • Parking less than 15 feet from a fire hydrant $15.00
  • Parking within 30 feet of a stop sign $15.00
  • All other parking violations $15.00
  • Moving violations $50.00 -$200.00 (ESU citation)

What Do I Do If My Car Breaks Down?

  • If your car breaks down and you need to bring a different vehicle to the University, remember to transfer your parking permit to the new vehicle. If you forget to transfer the permit (hangtag) pick up a temporary parking permit at the University Police Department during regular business hours.
  • If you break down on campus, you must notify University Police by calling 422-3064. If your vehicle is not in a designated parking space, you will be required to stand by your vehicle until an officer arrives. He/she will determine if your vehicle needs to be moved or not. If the vehicle is determined to be a hazard, then you must arrange to have it moved at once, otherwise, you have 24 hours to remove it from campus.
  • Failure to report the vehicle to University police will result in the operator being responsible for any parking ticket issued to the vehicle. Appeals will not be granted due to your failure to follow this regulation.

Where Can I Park?

  • Your permit type determines where you may park. Parking permits and parking lots are color and number coded. You can contact University Police for a campus parking map or with any questions.
  • Areas posted for visitors are not open to vehicles displaying a University permit. Persons who are affiliated with the University may not use visitor parking spaces.

What about Mopeds and Bicycles?

  • Whether you drive a car, truck, motorcycle or a moped, you’ll need a parking permit.
  • You are not required to register your bicycle for parking, but you are encouraged to register it with your local police for theft prevention purposes.
  • You may not ride bicycles in any University building at any time. When operated outdoors, bicycles must be used in accordance with Pennsylvania Laws and University Regulations.
  • Bicycle operators must always give the right of way to pedestrians.
  • Make sure you lock your vehicles and bicycles to avoid theft.

Is The University Responsible For Damage Done To or Theft From My Vehicle?

  • No liability is created by the granting of parking or vehicle operating privileges on property owned, leased, or otherwise controlled by the University.
  • The University assumes no responsibility for care or protection of vehicles or contents while operated or parked on University property.
  • Officers of the University Police Department patrol University parking facilities 24 hours a day.
  • Remember to always lock your vehicle and put valuables out of sight.

If I Am a Visitor Do I Have To Pay This Parking Ticket?

The University will grant you one courtesy void for Failure to Display Permit and Parking in a Designated Faculty/Staff Area, but this ticket must be brought by the violator to the Police department office within 24 hours of issuance. However, we will not waive any other part of the regulations.

You will be responsible for any additional tickets issued to your vehicle.

Who Is Responsible For a Parking Ticket Issued To a Vehicle?

  • The person who is listed as the owner in the records from the Department of Transportation.
  • However, the University will assign any parking ticket issued to a vehicle owned by a student’s family to the student. It will be his or her responsibility to prove that someone else operated the vehicle.